I Once went 12 days Without Showering

I was also wearing the same pair of clothes every day during that time and living out of a tent and traveling on a bicycle. And it made me realize that, even as people who live “moderately” in the modern day world, we have way, way, way, too much stuff. And it stresses me out.

This summer, I upgraded to living out of a small suitcase and backpack as I travel across Montana and Yellowstone National Park each week for my job, but like last summer (the summer of like 6 total showers), most of my possessions were left behind at my permanent home in Massachusetts. The only things I have here are the clothes I need for work, one or two sets of other clothes, my hiking boots and a pair of sandals, my toothbrush, and my phone. And that’s still probably more than I need, but reducing the amount of things I own and have to keep track of makes living a whole lot easier.

I don’t have to think about what I’m going to wear very hard because I have like, three options. I don’t have to worry about all the knick-knacks I’ve collected over time that I no longer care about and can’t decide what to do with. I don’t have to carry a lot with me because I have so little out here, and as a result of all of this, I can truly say that I feel a sense of simplicity that is really hard to find. And along with it, I have a greater sense of calm.

Now, I’m not saying that anybody should reduce their closet down to one set of clothes and live out of a tent for the rest of their life. But I am saying that there is a peaceful power in reducing the number of things we own.

We live in a material world, and it is easy to become a consumer when you are constantly inundated with conscious and subconscious messages telling you to buy, buy, buy. But decluttering and simplifying the spaces we live in and the things we own can have huge benefits for our minds, too. And honestly, do you really need that second lava lamp or those seven toe rings of yours (cuz you’re never gonna wear those all at the same time), or another subscription to Reader’s Digest which you truthfully haven’t read a copy of in over a year? Probably not.

When you own less, you have less to clean, less to maintain, and well, less to worry about. Owning less also helps you to focus on things that are actually important. Rather than materials, you can focus on experiences and emotions and connecting with other people, simply because you don’t HAVE any materials to keep you busy.

So my advice is this: go through your closet, sell or donate ever article of clothing you haven’t worn in the last year, because I know you have a few of those. And then go through the rest of your bedroom, your home, your car, and sell or donate or (if you have to) throw away the things you just don’t use. The value of getting rid of them will probably be much greater than what they would bring you if you put them to use one time 20 years from now. And if you do have those belongings that you just can’t bear to get rid of (“I feel like I could use this earring if I ever get invited to a 1920’s flappers meets neon party”) keep them all together in a box that is out of sight and out of mind.

And I promise you will feel better, even when you’re not consciously thinking about it, when you simplify your material life.

3 thoughts on “I Once went 12 days Without Showering

Leave a comment